ece Who's Who: EGEE-II Activities & Boards



EGEE-II Activities

The EGEE-II project is composed of 10 'activities' in three areas, Networking Activities (NA), Specific Service Activities (SA) and Joint Research Activities (JRA).

NA1: Project Management (CERN)

Project Director: Bob Jones Technical Director: Erwin Laure Project Administration: Anna Cook Financial Officer: Dita Mocova Contact: project-eu-egee-po@cern.ch

NA2: Dissemination, Outreach & Communication

Activity Manager: Sarah Purcell (CERN) Contact: pressoffice@eu-egee.org

NA3: Training & Induction

Activity Manager: Robin McConnell (NESC) Deputy: Gergely Sipos (SZTAKI) Contact: training-support@nesc.ac.uk

NA4: Application Identification & Support

Activity Manager: Charles Loomis (LAL)
Contact: charles.loomis@cern.ch
project-eu-egee-na4-sc-contact@cern.ch

NA5: Policy & International Cooperation

Activity Manager: Panos Louridas (GRNET)

Contact: louridas@grnet.gr

SA1: Grid Operations, Support & Management

Activity Manager: Ian Bird (CERN)
Deputy: Maite Barroso Lopez (CERN)

Contact: ian.bird@cern.ch

SA2: Networking Support

Activity Manager: Mathieu Goutelle (CNRS)
Deputy: Genevieve Romier (CNRS)
Contact: mathieu.goutelle@urec.cnrs.fr

SA3: Integration, Testing & Certification

Activity Manager: Markus Schulz (CERN)
Deputy: Laurence Field (CERN)
Contact: markus.schulz@cern.ch

JRA1: Middleware Re-engineering

Activity Manager: Claudio Grandi (INFN)

Deputy: John White (UH-HIP) Contact: <u>claudio.grandi@cern.ch</u>

JRA2: Quality Assurance & Security Coordination

Activity Manager: Gabriel Zaquine (CS SI) Contact (JRA2): gabriel.zaquine@cern.ch

Head of Security: Åke Edlund (KTH)
Contact (Security): edlund@pdc.kth.se

RPLO: Related Project Liaison Office

Leader: Roberta Faggian Marque (CERN)
Contact: project-eu-egee-rp-lo@cern.ch

EGEE-II Boards & Committees

EGEE-II features many horizontal groups that cover various aspects of the project.

Project Management Board (PMB)

Acting Chair: Manuel Delfino (PIC) Secretary: Anna Cook (CERN) Website: http://cern.ch/egee-technical/structure/pmb.htm

The PMB has one senior member nominated by each federation of partners. The PMB oversees the project, ensures that the EU contract is properly executed and that the terms of the consortium agreement are implemented.

Project Execution Board (PEB)

Chair: Erwin Laure (CERN)
Secretary: Kristina Gunne (CERN)
Website: http://cern.ch/egee-technical/structure/peb.htm

The PEB oversees the daily technical management of the project. All activities are represented, as are the Industry Forum and Head of Security.

Technical Coordination Group (TCG)

Chair: Erwin Laure (CERN): Website: http://cern.ch/egee-intranet/NA1/TCG/tcg.htm

The TCG brings together the technical activities within the project to ensure the oversight and coordination of the technical direction of the project, and that the technical work progresses according to plan.

Last Update: 13/09/2007

ece Who's Who: EGEE-II Activities & Boards

Collaboration Board (CB)

Chair: rotating

Website: http://cern.ch/egee-technical/structure/cb.htm

The CB is composed of senior representatives for each partner institute and meets annually at the project conferences.

Administrative Federation Committee (AFC)

Chair: Giorgio Maggi (INFN)
Secretary: Anna Cook (CERN)
Website: http://cern.ch/egee-technical/structure/fc.htm

The AFC is composed of designated administrative representatives in each federation, the head of administration from NA1 and the project financial officer. It is responsible for coordinating the financial reporting and general administrative and contractual issues of the project.

Industry Task Force (ITF)

Co-Chairs: Gabriel Zaquine (CS SI), Stefano Beco (Elsag Datamat) & Stephanie Parker (MTW)

Website: http://www.eu-egee.org/industry-task-force

The ITF brings together the industrial partners of EGEE-II and related projects wishing to deploy industrial applications. With representation on the TCG at the same level as the other application groups, the ITF ensures the needs of industrial users are taken into account.

Industry Forum (IF)

Chair: Stephanie Parker (MTW) Website: http://www.eu-egee.org/industry forum

The IF is coordinated by the NA2 activity. Its overall aim is to promote take-up of Grids by business and industry, and to understand the overall industry requirements for Grids. It is a proactive forum that is industry-led with input from the research community.

Security Coordination Group (SCG)

Chair: Åke Edlund (KTH)

Website: http://zope.pdc.kth.se/scg

The SCG is responsible for ensuring overall EGEE security coordination. This includes architecture, deployment, standardisation and cross-project concertation.

Operations Advisory Group (OAG)

Co-Chairs: Rolf Rumler (CNRS) & Charles Loomis (LAL)

The OAG is co-chaired by SA1 and NA4 and acts as a high-level interface between the user community and those responsible for Grid operations. It manages the procedures for recognizing new Virtual Organisations (VOs), for accepting new supported VOs (through the definition of MoUs), and resource requests.

Quality Assurance Group (QAG)

Chair: Gabriel Zaquine (CS SI)

The QAG group, led by JRA2, ensures the project's processes, products, services and deliverables are of high quality.

VO Managers' Group

Chair: Frederic Schaer (CNRS)

The Virtual Organisation (VO) Managers' Group is a forum for effective two-way communication between NA4 and the VOs using the Grid. Such a group is essential for the evolution of the EGEE middleware and infrastructure services.

External Advisory Committee (EAC)

Members: Phil Andrews (SDSC) Frederica Darema (NSF)

Carole Goble (Uni Manchester) Eike Jessen (DFN)

Rolf Kubli(EDS)
Dave Snelling (Fujitsu)

This committee is composed of external Grid experts appointed by the Project Director, who will attend rehearsals of project reviews and conferences to advise the project management on the progress of the programme of work.

Last Update: 13/09/2007